Planned Giving: The Semper Society

Throughout Shady Side Academy's history, numerous acts of individual generosity have enabled the Academy to become and remain the preeminent independent school in Western Pennsylvania. Many of these charitable contributions have taken the form of planned gifts. Shady Side Academy created the Semper Society to thank and recognize these generous individuals who have made planned gifts as wonderful gestures of hope and faith in Shady Side's future. Semper Society gifts can take the form of bequests, charitable trusts, life insurance policies, charitable gift annuities or contributions to our pooled income fund.

The Academy salutes the generosity and support of this very special group of alumni, parents and friends. Their thoughtful acts have helped ensure the continuing excellence of a Shady Side Academy education for future generations of our students.


Edward Ahrens* 1932

Frank L. Arensberg* 1962

John A. Aufhammer* 1929

Fred C. Babcock* 1931

George A. Bartholomew* 1941

Anne G. Baum Trust*

Paul G. Benedum, Jr. 1950

Donald D. Borden 1946

Edward Boshell, Jr. 1953

Robert M. Bragdon* 1934

John E. Brownell, Jr.* 1950

John G. Buchanan* 1905

Charles R. Burke*

J. P. Cameron

Miles Charest*

Marnie W. Curry 1985

John P. Davis, Jr. 1942

Anne B. Deike*

Sylvia DeMarco

Catherine H. Demmler*

Janet R.* and John H. Demmler 1950

Ralph Demmler*

James V. Dinkey 1955

A. R. (Bob) Dismukes, Jr.* 1941

Ann* and Robert* Egan 1948

John Fisher* 1941

George L. Follansbee* 1930

Julie B. Follansbee*

Richard Follansbee* 1938

Frederick W. Fraley 1950

Stephen E. Fuhrer 1982

Henry J. Gailliot

W. P. Getty*

William P. Getty 1963

Nancy and Ronald* Giallonardo

Olive Gilliand*

George H. Gilmore 1942

Marilyn* and James* Gilmore 1941

David A. Gilpatrick 1981

Sanford H. Goldstein* 1948

Freda Gray*

George R. Graham 1955

James P. Hackett, Jr. 1961

James W. Hamilton* 1935

Lilian L. Halpern

W. Scott Harlan II 1955

Eugene M. Heckman* 1910

Dorothy S. Hill

Nancy C. and Paul S. Hill 1980

B. McKinley Hinds* Trust

Dana M. Hollinshead 1985

Alfred M. Hunt* 1938

David W. Hunter* 1946

Edward A. Irvin* 1950

Paul R. Jenkins* 1950

Walter F. Jenkins 1984

Richard W. Kappel 1950

George E. Klingelhofer* 1943

John R. Knepper 1957

John R. Kramer 1957

Karl F. Krieger 1949

James C. Kuhn 1963

Charles M. Lynch 1958

Mary* and William T.* Marsh

Andrew W. Mathieson* 1946

Robert C. McCarthy, Jr. 1971

John B. McClay* 1950

Robert McEldowney, Jr.* 1936

Stuart E. McMurray* 1931

Donna M. and John C. Miller, Jr. 1971

Dr. Alexander* and Frances Minno

James W. Minteer 1957

Molly R. and Donald H. Montgomery

George N. Morgan* 1892

Dominic Navarro, Jr.* 1946

Joseph W. Oliver* 1925

C. Ward Parshall 1959

Jeffrey L. Pollock 1980

Craig D. Ramsey 1964

Alexander P. Reed, Jr.* 1942

Walter D. Riddle, Jr.*1936

Wallace H. Rowe* 1919

Robert G. Runnette* 1956

John E. Russell* 1917

S. Murray Rust, Jr.* 1930

Edwin F. Scheetz, Jr. 1950

J. P. Scheetz*

Augustus O. Schroeder* 1959

David S. Shapira

Joseph A. Shenkan*

Grant M. Shipley* 1942

Richard Simon 1939

Edward H. Sipe* 1944

C. Donald Smith

Robert L. Spear* 1927

William Stark*

John F. Steel 1950

E. B. Strassburger* 1934

Edwin J. Strassburger 1964

Jeffrey J. Varadi 1966

Catherine Vodrey 1981

William F.B. Vodrey 1983

Anne and Sean Warren 1978

Betsy and Charles Watkins

Marc Wedner* 1956

Biddle A. Whigham* 1943

Jerold B. Wilkoff 1949

John M. Wolf* 1938

* Deceased