Country Day School History
Country Day School became Shady Side Academy's second elementary campus in 2017. Previously known as Fox Chapel Country Day School, the independent elementary school merged with SSA in January 2017 and was renamed "Shady Side Academy Country Day School in Fox Chapel" beginning with the 2017-2018 school year.
Founded in 1948 as Fox Chapel Country Day School (FCCDS), the school began with 18 children in a nursery school class, housed on the third floor of Fox Chapel Community Church (now Christ Church Fox Chapel). In the 1950s, the search began for a permanent location for the school, and a grade level was added each year to grow the school through fifth grade.
In 1960, Richard K. Whiteman was appointed head of school, a tenure that would last for 40 years. The school continued to grow enrollment and nurture students as a place to learn and discover. In 1970, FCCDS became accredited by the Pennsylvania Association of Private Academic Schools (PAPAS).
While continuing to share space with the church, the school reconfigured the facilities to suit its needs. In 1999, a major addition to join two buildings and create a new space for pre-kindergarten and kindergarten classrooms was completed. The playground, a vital part of every school day, was replaced in 2011.
SSA and FCCDS enjoyed a close relationship over the years. Historically, a majority of Country Day graduates have gone on to enroll at SSA's Middle School. Country Day's campus is less than a mile down the road from SSA Middle School, and it overlooks the SSA Senior School athletic complex across the road. Merger discussions between the two schools took place off and on for nearly 30 years, but in 2017 the timing was right for both schools to join forces.