Two Faculty Members Named to Endowed Chair Positions

Dr. Joe MartensTwo Shady Side Academy faculty members have been named to endowed chair positions at the Academy.

Senior School Science Department Chair Dr. Joe Martens was named to The Howard Heinz Chair in the Sciences for a five-year term through June 2024. Dr. Martens has taught science at the Senior School since 2014 and was named chair of the Science Department in 2017. He also coaches the Science Olympiad team and is a member of the residential life staff. He succeeds Middle School sixth grade science teacher Matt Brunner as the Heinz Chair.

Ms. Rachel McCoolSenior School history teacher Rachel McCool was named to The F. Walter Jones Jr. Chair in History for a five-year term through June 2024. McCool has taught history at the Senior School since 2008. She also has coached boys and girls tennis and served five years as a dorm advisor in Morewood House. She succeeds Senior School History Department Chair Kyle Smith as the Jones Chair.

A total of five named endowed chair appointments are available to SSA faculty, made possible by generous gifts from members of the SSA community to the faculty endowment fund. Each endowed chair holder receives an annual stipend for a five-year term. The other three endowed chairs are:

  • The Richard K. Mellon Chair in Mathematics, currently held by Junior School fourth grade teacher Lisa Budd until June 2022
  • The George and Ann Magovern Chair in Science, currently held by Senior School science teacher Dr. Scott Peterson until June 2022
  • The Julia D. and James C. Rea Chair in Humanities, currently held by Middle School social studies teacher Molly Braver until June 2022

Congratulations to Dr. Martens and Ms. McCool on their new appointments!

To submit an idea for a website news story, please email