Ten SSA Football Players Earn Allegheny Conference Postseason Honors

Ten members of the Shady Side Academy varsity football team earned postseason honors from the Class 2A Allegheny Conference for the 2020 season, including three players named to the first team. Six of the 10 players were recognized for outstanding play at two positions.

Seniors Joe Mele (guard and inside linebacker), Josh Castro (quarterback and punter) and Joe Bellinotti (defensive back) earned first-team honors.

SSA Athletic Logo

Second-team honorees included Bellinotti (wide receiver), sophomore Isaiah Grier (wide receiver), senior Watts Coulter (guard), senior Jack Keating (center), sophomore Nate Ewell (defensive end), junior Andy Marous (defensive tackle), senior Ari Gutstein (outside linebacker) and senior Liam Mendham (kicker). Ewell (offensive tackle), Marous (offensive tackle) and Grier (defensive back) earned honorable mention honors as well.

Congratulations to all 10 players and their head coach, Chuck DiNardo '00!

To submit an idea for a website news story, please email