Middle School Science Olympiad Team Competes in Regional Tournament

On Wednesday, March 6, the Shady Side Academy Middle School Science Olympiad team placed first out of 18 teams in Division B (grades 6-9) at the Southwestern Regional Tournament at California University of Pennsylvania. SSA competed against teams from Allegheny, Armstrong, Beaver, Bedford, Blair, Cambria, Fayette, Fulton, Greene, Indiana, Somerset, Washington and West Moreland counties.

The following SSA students earned top six finishes in their events:

  • Isabel Brunner and Ada Chu– 1st for Battery Buggy
  • Isabel Brunner and Ada Chu– 1st for Roller Coaster
  • Isabel Brunner and Elaine Gombos– 1st for Write It Do It
  • Ada Chu and Prayag Vemulapalli– 1st for Anatomy & Physiology
  • Ada Chu and Otis Liu– 6th for Game On
  • Elaine Gombos and Miyu Yamane– 1st for Disease Detectives
  • Elaine Gombos and Shaurya Gulati – 1st for Dynamic Planet
  • Elaine Gombos – 1st for Road Scholar
  • Elaine Gombos and Sophia Gombos– 3rd for Meteorology
  • Sophia Gombos and Daniel Kim– 1st for Boomilever
  • Shaurya Gulati and Vanessa Han– 1st for Crime Busters
  • Shaurya Gulati and Miyu Yamane– 1st for Density Lab
  • Vanessa Han, Jack Hathaway and Prayag Vemulapalli – 1st for Experimental Design
  • Vanessa Han and Daniel Kim– 3rd for Elastic Launch Gliders
  • Jack Hathaway and Otis Liu– 1st for Circuit Lab
  • Daniel Kim and Rohan Shrishrimal – 2nd for Mystery Architecture
  • Otis Liu and Sophia Sandholm– 1st for Heredity
  • Sophia Sandholm and Miyu Yamane– 1st for Potions and Poisons
  • Sophia Sandholm and Ariya Tayal – 1st for Water Quality
  • Rohan Shrishrimal and Hari Viswanathan – 1st for Solar System
  • Ariya Tayal and Hari Viswanathan – 1st for Fossils
  • Prayag Vemulapalli and Miyu Yamane– 1st for Herpetology
  • Hari Viswanathan and Miyu Yamane– 1st for Thermodynamics

Science Olympiad is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the quality of K-12 science education, increasing male, female and minority interest in science, creating a technologically-literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by both students and teachers.

Congratulations to the team and their coaches, Bonnie Maxwell and John Matia!

To submit an idea for a website news story, please email