Presidential Search

On Nov. 1, 2017, Tom Cangiano announced that 2017-2018 would be his final year as president of Shady Side Academy, and the SSA Board of Trustees announced that Middle School Head Amy Nixon would serve as interim president in 2018-2019 while a search for the Academy's next president is conducted. We are confident, with the strength of this great institution, that we will attract a premier individual to lead the Academy into the future.

Position Statement (PDF)

Please refer back to this page for periodic updates during the search process.


Search Committee

Robert E. Cochran
Kara Salvitti Conomikes '87
Roland J. Coston-Criswell '95
Debra Kline Demchak
Annie Hanna Engel
Amit Singh Grover '01
Lawrence N. Gumberg
Michael J. Hannon '74
Michele Jegasothy
Jonathan M. Kamin '91
Virginia Ramsey Lyons
Jeffrey A. McDaniel '88, co-chair
Peter J. McIlroy '86
Robert S. Mullin '93, co-chair
Louis B. Plung '80
James E. Rohr Jr. '92
Sara Scaife
Lauren O'Brien Troutman '85